Avalon [en]


The Avalon Series is a series of novels written by Marion Zimmer Bradley, with help from Diana L. Paxson. Paxson later took over sole authorship after Bradley's death in 1999.

The Avalon series retells the Arthurian legend from Morgaine's point of view. It also tells the story of how Avalon was created, how England has been under Roman authority and how Avalon disappeared because of a new religion, Christianity. All stories are told by women who were powerful during their lifetime, like Eilan, high priestess of The Forest House, or Morgaine, high priestess of Avalon.